The Opening Moment

•April 9, 2010 • Leave a Comment

Being passive and receptive is stereotypically feminine, but I’d like to reclaim both of those emotions and actions.

Passivity is a quality I’m trying to cultivate. Being vulnerable to the passage of time, remaining sensitive to the changes of choices around you, choosing to listen rather than speak. To remain process oriented rather than goal oriented. Being patient, patient, patient. My general nature seems to be at odds with all of these, but they seem to be valuable lessons to learn. I must learn to be the mother who waits until her baby is ripe:

This card is from the Osho Zen deck. Tarot decks usually do a pretty good job of highlighting the benefits of being passive and receptive, and several Major Arcana cards are centered around those very qualities. The woman here is not lazy or apathetic, but totally invested in the moment of growth. She’s moving along the cycle of the moon with poise, openness, and confidence. She’s serene.

My more feminist decks also marvel at the power of birth, and its ultimate rejection of the idea that passive and receptive means lazy and wishy-washy. We must be passive, at times, to listen to the knowledge within.

This chakra card is from the Triple Goddess Tarot, and I can’t think of a more powerful image in the deck than this one. The birthing woman here is grounded and connected to the Earth, awakening her Kundalini energy, and harnessing the power that can awaken her higher self (symbolized by the person in the lotus position in the egg above her head). Birth is the opening moment where we are most vulnerable, where our physical or mental or emotional creations pause, then separate from our minds and bodies to stand alone but connected.

Receptivity is also key to remaining open. We must be able to absorb knowledge to make our best choices. Letting Being permeate your existence and radiate through every cell in your body. Listening to your inner self provides the greatest sense of knowing, without words, without the distorted lens of perception.

Tarot has been a great meditative tool to remind me that the qualities we devalue in this circle of time have tremendous power and teaching potential. I am learning to be open to the qualities we call feminine and therefore devalue. Reclaiming these aspects of the self are necessary to remain whole and in rejecting patriarchy’s influence on our own personal development and the journey of the soul.


Why Death?

•April 4, 2010 • Leave a Comment

Tarot has two kinds of cards: Minor and Major Arcana. The Major Arcana are 22 cards that visually represent the path we all travel in life (usually several times) as we develop and grow. There are a few cards in that spread that we identify with because of our birthdays, astrological signs, or personal preference.

My Personality Card, as determined through Mary K. Greer’s Constellations numerology method, is Death.

It sounds a bit scary and morose, but we all experience the cycle of death at one point or another, whether it is a physical death (of childhood or a person in our lives), an emotional death (like the ending of a relationship or an end of faith in something you once venerated), or a spiritual death (no longer believing in the religious doctrine of your youth, experiencing trauma and its effects).

Often, death is a blessing in disguise. A forest fire clears out old brush and decay and allows new life to grow. A project ends, but provides the kindling for the fire of your next new endeavor. A loved one dies, but only then could you appreciate your own mortality, and it motivates you to accomplish what you want in life before your own death.

Dana Driscoll, Tarot of Trees creator and the artist of the Tree Death image above, describes death as a transition from one point to the next. A tree may be cut down, but it can be used for firewood, paper, or a home for some forest critter. We experience sadness at death, but sadness is not an emotion to suppress or ignore. In order to fully understand the richness of life, we must accept sadness as a necessary and beneficial experience.

Death is my personality card, and that means I am able to see patterns for what they are and expose them. I can confront truth and not be afraid. People who have death as their personality card, like Immanuel Kant and Harriet Beecher Stowe, often create life works that rock the foundations of society or get us to think about morality and the human condition in a profoundly new way. Death people have a passionate drive to live, because they understand the cycle requires an honest effort before it can be completed.

I am reclaiming death. Death is not some thing to fear. Death is something we can learn from. Today is Eostre, a pagan holiday to celebrate life. We have all survived the harshness of winter and are here in the spring to renew and grow. I have died many times during life, which made my current growth possible.

Beginning the Cycle

•April 4, 2010 • Leave a Comment

As the Fool strides into this world, I stride again into the blogosphere, pouring my thoughts into the abyss and cesspool the internet has become. There are a few topics I’m interested in covering, and here’s what I’ll be focusing on for the time being:


Various topics within  Feminism like childbirth, reproductive rights, activism, gender, and others

Sexual Violence

Vegan living

Occasionally music

I am still a child of this world, confronted with existence and the stars in a profoundly simple and beautiful way. I’m no longer collecting my thoughts on sheets of paper, and the folder full of them that I carried around for a year refuses to have another thought encased in its folds. That project is done, that cycle is finished. Here’s to the next 🙂